Conch/Shankh: Importance & Scientific Significance

Conch/Shankh: Importance & Scientific Significance   Conch is known as shankh in Sanskrit and its derived languages like Hindi and Malayalam. Shankh in Sanskrit means “Conch holding sacred water”. Shankha is pronounced sanka, chanku, senkham, sankha and shankho in Gujarati, Tamil, Telugu, Oriya and Bengali respectively.  The conch Shell is a major Hindu article of prayer, used as a trumpet and in order to get rid of negative energy and evil spirits. The shankha is mudra is also used during […]



Diwali Muhurat, Lakshmi Pooja and Preparations ,Significance of Laxmi

Deepawali 2016 Muhurat, Lakshmi Pooja & Preparations ,Significance of Laxmi   Main festival of Deepawali is on 30thOctober 2016 (Sunday) Pradosh Kaal Muhurat- Lakshmi Puja Muhurta = 19:00 to 20:34 Duration = 1 Hour 33 Mins Pradosh Kaal = 18:02 to 20:34 Vrishabha Kaal = 19:00 to 21:00 Amavasya Tithi Begins = 20:40 on 29/Oct/2016 Amavasya Tithi Ends = 23:08 on 30/Oct/2016 Mahanishita Kaal Muhurat- Lakshmi Puja Muhurta = None Duration = 0 Hours 0 Mins Mahanishita Kaal = 23:56 to […]

2016 Dhantrayodashi, Dhanteras Puja Timings (Muhurta),Vidhi Of Dhanteras Puja

2016 Dhantrayodashi, Dhanteras Puja Timings (Muhurta), Vidhi Of Dhanteras Puja   28th October 2016 (Friday) Pradosh Kaal Muhurat-  Dhanteras Puja Muhurta = 17:35 to 18:20 *(without sthir lagna) Duration = 0 Hours 45 Mins Pradosh Kaal = 17:35 to 20:11 Vrishabha Kaal = 18:35 to 20:30 Trayodashi Tithi Starts = 16:15 on 27/Oct/2016 Trayodashi Tithi Ends = 18:20 on 28/Oct/2016 Lakshmi Puja on Dhanteras or Dhantrayodashi should be done during Pradosh Kaal which starts after sunset and approximately lasts for 2 hours and 24 […]

Ganesh Chaturthi

  Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated with great devotion all over India. Ganesh Chaturthi is a ten-day Hindu festival celebrated to honour the elephant-headed God Ganesha’s birthday. Also commonly known as Vinayaka Chaturthi. Significance of Ganesha Chaturthi This is one of the most popular festivals in the Country. Ganesh Chaturthi also known as Vinayaka Chaturthi. People bring home Murtis (Idols) of Lord Ganesha and celebrate the festival by worshiping the Lord in a special way for a day and a half, 3 days, […]



Janmashtami – Dahi Handi Festival

        Come August and the festivities begin. Dahi Handi Celebrated in Savana month. This day commemorates the birth of Lord Krishna who is the eight incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Also called as Govinda in Maharashtra, or Gokulashtami in many other parts of the country this is a day when Lord Krishna is revered and worshipped. This year in 2016, the celebrations would be held on August 25. Usually the festival date is decided as per the cycle […]

Dakshinavarti Shankh / Right Handed Conch Shell 3 comments

  Introduction Dakshinavarti Shankh  ( दक्षिणावर्ती शंख) is a very rare kind of shankh (conch shell)  that has opening on the right side or have clockwise rotation when viewed from front.   Dakshinavarti Shankhas  are very very rare and  auspicious.   These type of  Shankh is also known as Shri Lakshmi Shankh or Valampuri Shankh.   The true Dakshinavarti Shankha has the three or more horizontal lines (ridges) at the inside center opening. The Valampuri is the favourite of Goddess Lakshmi and it is considered […]

Dakshinavarti Shankh

५१ शक्तिपीठ 2 comments

५१ शक्तिपीठ की कथा देवो के देव महादेव और उनकी अर्धांगिनी माता सती से जुड़ी हुई है। माता सती प्रजापति दक्ष के २३ पुत्रियों मे से एक थी। प्रजापति दक्ष ब्रह्म पुत्र थे जिनके ईष्ट भगवान विष्णु थे।प्रजापति दक्ष ने अत्याधिक कठिन तप कर के माँ आदि शक्ति को पुत्री के रूप मे प्राप्त करने का वरदान पाया था। निम्न लेख हमारे सभी पाठकों को प्रजापति दक्ष, महादेव, माता सती और ५१ शक्तिपीठ से जुड़ी कथा के संदर्व मे बताएगा। […]


Kumbha Mela As per the traditions, the origin of the Kumbha Mela can be traced to the 8th Century AD. These Melas were said to be started by the Great Saint Shankaracharya with an intention of strengthening the Hindu religion through regular gatherings of learned ascetics for discussions and debates. Kumbh Mela is   held at four holy places – Allahabad (River Ganges), Haridwar (River Ganges), Ujjain (River Shipra) and Nashik (River Godavari). It is held at each of these locations […]



Lord Shiva worshipped in Jyotir Linga form by his devotees.There are so many Shiv Linga in India from which 12 are the most holy and called as Jyotir Linga.Our map will show you the location of every Jyotir Ling along with their names.Every Jyotir Ling has certain mythology associated with it which will be available to our viewer’s in next post .Move your cursor on every Shiv Ling to view its name and location DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this […]